First Round of Abstract Submission Ends: Mar 28, 2024
Extended Early Bird Ends: Dec 28, 2023

Plenary Speakers

Prof. Maurizio Memo
University of Brescia, Italy
Title: Will update soon
Maurizio Memo was born in Cagliari, Italy, in 1953. He received the bachelor’s degree in chemistry and pharmaceutical technology from the University of Cagliari, Cagliari, Italy.,He is currently a Full Professor of Pharmacology with the University of Brescia, Brescia, Italy. He is the Director of Medical Pharmacology Specialization School and the Scientific Director of Drug Investigation, Information and Research, University Centre, University of Brescia. He is the Principal Investigator of several research projects sponsored by the National and International Institutions. He has authored more than 200 full scientific papers all published in recognized international Journals and the Organizer of 12 International Symposia.,Prof. Memo was a recipient of the Roussel Prize for Gerontological Research in 1987 and the Sandoz Foundation Prize in 1994.
Prof. Abdelwahab Omri
Laurentian University, Canada
Title: Will update soon
Will update soon
Prof. Bruno Sarmento
i3S, University of Porto, Portugal
Title: Will update soon
Bruno Sarmento is Principal Investigator, Group Leader and member of the Board of Directors at Institute for Research and Innovation in Health (i3S), University of Porto (UP), and Invited Associate Professor at Instituto Universitário de Ciências da Saúde (IUCS), Portugal. He graduated in Pharmaceutical Sciences at UP in 2002 and completed a PhD in Pharmaceutical Nanotechnology at UP in 2007, in collaboration with Queen’s University (CA), University of Copenhagen (DK) and University of Santiago de Compostela (ES). From 2007 to 2012 he held a Post-Doc position at UP, in collaboration with the University of Copenhagen. In 2008 he was appointed Assistant Professor at IUCS. He also co-founded Inovapotek in 2008, and is member of its advisory board. In 2012 he became Associated Researcher at INEB, where established an independent team. He was appointed as Assistant Researched at INEB/i3S in 2016, and Principal Investigator in 2019. He was Visiting Professor at UniOeste (BR) between 2015-2017 and is Visiting Professor at Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine (CH).

He has supervised/co-supervised 15 Post-Docs (13 completed), 51 PhD students (40 completed) and 40 MSc students (39 completed), and 15 researcher assistants. He attracted direct competitive funding worth more than 24 M€, at national and international levels. His current research is focused on the development of functionalized nanomedicines and their application in the pharmaceutical and biomedical fields. In particular, nanoformulations of biopharmaceutical drugs with interest in diabetes, cancer and infectious diseases. He has also specialized in mucosal tissue engineering models to validate functionalized nanomedicines and to perform in vitro/in vivo correlation. He published 460 papers in international journals (total citations in Scopus 19000; H-index 70 and in GoogleScholar 24500; H-index 78), 58 book chapters and more than 400 proceedings. He edited 5 books, participated in more than 60 invited/selected talks in national and international meetings and was awarded several distinctions. He is editor of European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and member of the Editorial Advisory Board of several international journals, including the Journal of Controlled Release, Drug Delivery and Translational Research, Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery and Smart Materials in Medicine. He is referee for top-ranked journals in his area of expertise, and for international funding agencies as FNRS (BE), FWO(BE), Inserm (FR), CNCS (RO), FCT (PT), NSC (PL), ANR (FR), CNPq (BR) and European Commission.

Bruno Sarmento was the first Chair of the Nanomedicine and Nanoscale Delivery Focus Group of the Controlled Release Society (CRS) and is now Director-at-Large of CRS and member of CRS College of Fellows. In addition to being a partner in several research projects, he has been PI of competitively funded projects (FCT, Gilead and CESPU), bilateral collaborative projects between Portugal (FCT) and foreigner funding agencies as well as partner of several European projects funded by European Commission.
Prof. Andreas Bernkop-Schnürch
University of Innsbruck, Austria
Title: Will update soon
Chairman for Pharmaceutical Technology and Head of the Department of Pharmaceutical Technology at University of Innsbruck; founder and CSO of Thiomatrix Forschungs- Beratungs GmbH (www.thiomatrix.com); founder of MucoBiomer GmbH (meanwhile part of the Croma Holding) and founder of Green River Polymers GmbH (www.green-river.eu). He pioneered various technologies such as thiolated polymers (thiomers) and charge converting nanocarriers for mucosal drug delivery. He has been awarded more than 20 national and international awards including the Houska Award 2007, Ernst Brandl Award 2015, Gattefossé Noth America Award 2017, Phoenix Award 2022 and Science Award Tyrol 2023. He is author of over 500 research articles, reviews, patents and books.
Prof. Masabumi Shibuya
Jobu University, Japan
Title: Will update soon
Will update soon
Prof. Achim Aigner
Leipzig University, Germany
Title: Will update soon
Achim Aigner studied Chemistry and Biochemistry at the Technical University Darmstadt and received his Ph.D. under the supervision of Prof. H.G. Gassen (Institute for Biochemistry, TU Darmstadt). From 1996-1998 he was postdoctoral fellow at the Lombardi Cancer Center, Georgetown University, Washington DC, USA. In 1999, he returned to Germany and became Junior Research Group leader at the Institute for Pharmacology and Toxicology, Philipps University Marburg, where he also completed his Habilitation in Pharmacology and Toxicology in 2003 and became “apl” Professor in 2009. Since November 2011, he is full professor and head of Clinical Pharmacology in Leipzig.

His major research interests focus on nanoparticle technologies and RNA therapeutics, mainly in the context of tumor biology. This includes the functional analysis of tumor-relevant genes and non-coding RNAs, the analysis of cellular adaptation processes towards pharmacological oncogene inhibition as well as the development of novel therapeutic approaches based on RNA molecules as drugs or targets and of novel nanoparticles for therapeutic RNA delivery.